Airbnb Review in San Isidro, Costa Rica

This beautiful working coffee ranch is located about an hour from San Jose and 30 minutes from Heredia, another major city. We then found out it really depends on traffic and how fast your driver is!

IMG_3828IMG_3823IMG_3824IMG_3822IMG_3825

Our host was awesome and very friendly. I’m a planner so I need to know everything possible and ask every single question. He was very prompt to respond and assure me everything was perfect. He did warn me there is no such thing as addresses or street signs in Costa Rica so he gave me turn by turn directions on how to get there. He also recommended I downloaded and saved the map area offline in google maps. I also downloaded another great app where I was able to drop pins on specific locations and then use the app without internet or wifi.

IMG_3860IMG_3861

We arrived at SJO airport and took a taxi. When you say the city Concepcion de San Isidro no one really knew how to get there. It’s up in the mountains away from everyone and everything. Our taxi driver kept stopping every couple of turns to ask the friendly locals for directions. A couple minutes later we were lost and had no clue where we were. That’s when I knew I had to take over! Good thing I had my maps app I told him I knew how to get there and let me tell him where to turn. You basically take the main road and go through Heredia from the airport then make a left at the main gas station. Then go through San Isidro city center, on the second road make a left and all the way up the mountain you go passing the church. That’s the address!

Our host was in the states so the maintenance guy received us. Gave us the keys and the gate key and pointed to our little home and kept working on the plants. Ok make yourself at home! We dropped off our luggage checked the room out and started exploring. In the 3 days we were there we had the chance to see everything. I still wish we could have stayed longer!

IMG_3834IMG_382984F30104-4F20-4F72-A1BF-555AE68FEA68

The room was spacious enough for two. I loved all the natural light coming in from the many windows. For some reason the first thing we always check out is the bed. It was very comfy and as I laid there I immediately noticed the beautiful wood beams on the ceiling. So many little details pull everything together.

IMG_3818IMG_3812IMG_3821

Next to the bed was a comfy couch we mostly used for our luggage and to leave our bags prepared. Across was a small tv and a table. On the far right you had the bathroom, closet, and coffee station. The bathroom was nice and had good toilet paper, yay! The water was very cold at first so you had to give it a minute but after it warmed up I didn’t want to leave the shower.

IMG_3813IMG_3814IMG_3817IMG_3816

On day 3 and last we were there we really got to explore more. Since we were pretty much on tours the rest of the time. We met the housekeeper and she was so amazing and sweet. She loved talking to us and telling us all about Costa Rica. We went to the back of the property where the coffee starts and after walking for what seemed like forever we went back to the home and she showed us the coffee grown there in bags. Of course we bought a couple, it tasted amazing!

IMG_3856IMG_3857IMG_3847IMG_3839IMG_3840IMG_3845

After walking the trails and even finding a running stream we walked back up the other way. We found beautiful plants and fruits. Everything was so colorful and pretty. I wanted pictures of everything!

IMG_3851IMG_3854IMG_3852IMG_3855IMG_3853

We then went back up to sit on the balcony and enjoy the views. We even made a little friend. He was so adorable and I wanted to take him home with me! He followed me everywhere and when I walked he walked and when I stopped he also stopped. So adorable!

IMG_3913IMG_390903F49DCC-2551-4908-9C24-48AF3721DDC14021D6B3-392D-4CD1-8671-68117EF7F3FC

The housekeepers daughter was so kind to take us back to the airport saving us some money. We were so sad to leave and wish we could have stayed longer. Overall I give this place 5 stars. It’s beautiful, the hosts are beyond nice, it has all the amenities needed and it’s very affordable. The only thing I saw as a little downside was location. It’s amazing up in the mountains but it could be a little costly taking taxis back and forth.

 

I can’t wait to return! Pura Vida!!!

IMG_3846

 

EXPENSES

-Rate per Night $75 usd

-Taxi from SJO airport to Airbnb $40

-Taxi from Airbnb to SJO airport $25

-Taxi between Airbnb and Heredia $12

-Coffee from here $14 per bag

 

-Dayana

 

Leave a comment