St. Augustine weekend road trip

On a long weekend, I decided I wanted to take a road trip to a nearby city that I hadn’t visited. We always travel farther, outside of the state or even out of the country but you also need to explore your own state. Husband is always on board when I come up with my spontaneous ideas. I have a list of must visit cities that are driving distance and every time it just gets smaller and smaller. This time we were driving to St. Augustine about three hours from our home. We woke up really early to make it there in the morning and were driving back at night. Little did husband know I had a surprise in store for him.

St. Augustine is on the northeast coast of Florida on the Atlantic Ocean. It’s the oldest city in the US and is known for its Spanish colonial architecture. There is much to see and do so expect to do a lot of walking. When we arrived in the morning we drove around and spotted the trolley so we decided that was the best way to see everything in the least amount of time. They had different packages that took you around the city but also let you visit some attractions and the ticket was for two days. We spent most of the day going around and seeing everything from afar.  The stop that was included in our package was visiting the Fountain of Youth. It’s a spring that is said to restore the youth of the person who drinks or bathes in the water. Discovered by Ponce de Leon when he arrived in Florida. It’s an archeological park so you get to walk around and see the story. There are many things to do there and my favorite part was interacting with the peacocks. They walk around freely flaunting their beauty. I got to feed one and get some amazing shots.

img_0460img_0454img_0461

After that we grabbed some food, it was around 5:30. We realized it was already too late to visit the other attraction in the package so we decided to just walk around town before heading back home.

IMG_0463IMG_0456IMG_0455

A couple hours later we were exhausted and ready for the three-hour drive back home. But first I had to use the bathroom since I had “forgotten” too. We drove by gas stations but I just didn’t want to use it there until I saw an IHOP and that’s where I chose. Secretly I had booked a hotel for two nights and I was looking at the address the whole time and luckily it was connected to the IHOP. I went to the “bathroom” but I was actually checking in. When I went back to the car I showed my husband the hotel keys and he said, “what did you do”!? I had packed a luggage with everything we needed and it was in the trunk the whole time. Now we didn’t have to drive back and we could explore some more.

The day after we woke up, got ready and went off to breakfast. I found this breakfast place located in a cute little neighborhood, called The Blue Hen Cafe. There was a huge waiting line outside about an hours wait and that’s when I knew it had to be good. But it wasn’t just good it was so amazing! I had the Zada Jane’s Stack, egg omelet over sweet potato fries. My husband had the Southern Omelette and Pumpkin Pancakes.

The Blue Hen Cafe

IMG_0462IMG_0464

IMG_0467
Zada Jane’s Stack, egg omelet over sweet potato fries
IMG_0466
Southern Omelette
IMG_0465
Pumpkin Pancakes

 

We then went on the trolley to the other attraction which was the Old Jail. It was actually next to the hotel so they made sure to make it look like a beautiful Victorian home from the outside. Later it was turned into an attraction where people visited and learned its history. We also went to the famous fort which is the oldest in the US named Castillo de San Marcos National Monument. We saw the amazing views and explored inside. We were so tired from walking and it was so hot. We grabbed some drinks nearby the fort at a Mexican restaurant named Frida Taqueria & Tequila Bar. Then we drove to the beach for a relaxing evening. It was so beautiful we stayed until the sunset.

IMG_0471IMG_0468IMG_0472IMG_0473IMG_0474IMG_0475IMG_0476IMG_0477IMG_0478IMG_0479

Then we went back to the hotel to shower and change and it was husbands turn to pick a restaurant for dinner. He did perfect! He chose Harry’s Seafood Bar & Grille. It had outside seating just how I love it. A live band, but not too loud. Nice decorative lighting and amazing food. We started with some She Crab and Crispy Calamari. I had the Shrimp Scampi and he had the French Quarter Tenderloin. We couldn’t make it to dessert.

Harry’s Seafood Bar & Grille

IMG_0485IMG_0480

IMG_0481
She Crab
IMG_0482
Crispy Calamari
IMG_0483
Shrimp Scampi
IMG_0484
French Quarter Tenderloin

The next day it was time to drive back home after grabbing some breakfast. I found another perfect place named Maple Street Biscuit Company. This was my favorite place because everything tasted so amazing. I had the Sticky Maple. Flaky biscuit, all natural chicken breast, wood smoked bacon all topped with real maple syrup. My husband had the Five and Dime. Flaky biscuit, all natural chicken breast, wood smoked bacon, cheddar cheese, topped with sausage gravy and a fried egg. With a side of Hashups. Home fries, smoked ham, red and green peppers, grilled onion, melted cheese and topped with gravy. Yumm!

Maple Street Biscuit Company

IMG_0488
Sticky Maple
IMG_0486
Five and Dime
IMG_0487
Hashups

 

I would definitely recommend visiting St. Augustine and once you’re here visiting all of these places to eat is a must!

-Dayana

Leave a Reply

