Washington D.C.

Our Washington D.C. trip was pretty spontaneous and it turned out to be better than I expected. It reminded me of Europe, so the whole time I kept thinking  I was in another country. When we arrived at the airport we decided to take a taxi to our hotel and when we finally get one it was a long bearded middle eastern old man with a really funky/hoboish outfit. My husband, which looks middle-eastern, had asked him how much it would be for the drive to our hotel and he responded in what I thought was really bad English. He kept repeating whatever he was saying and then would laugh afterward. We were really trying to understand but could not get a word he was saying. He ended up finally telling us the price and we got in for the ride. It turns out that he thought my husband was from Pakistan, the same place he was from,  and all that time he had been teasing us about the price in Arabic. That’s why we couldn’t understand him and that’s why he was laughing when he’d say it. He says that Arabs are stingy, so that’s why he had joked in Arabic about how much he would be charging us.

We arrived at our hotel pretty late, so we really didn’t do much that night except eat a little something and then go to bed. We liked our room and thought it was really spacious, but the only thing that bothered me was the bathtubs mat. It felt like it was filled with water. It’s hard to explain but it’s the same kinda feeling you get if you’ve ever laid down on a water bed. I felt like I was getting seasick every time I’d take a shower. I think it was just an issue with our room though because in my parent’s room it was normal (sorry, but I have no pics of the hotel).

The first night we went to a restaurant called Malbec. It’s an Argentinian restaurant around the Dupont Circle neighborhood. The food was amazing and the service was excellent!

Malbec Restaurant

IMG_6865IMG_4489

IMG_1958
Provoleta a la Parrilla
IMG_7502
Chorizo a la Parrilla con Chimichurri
IMG_0716
Parrillada for 2 “Traditional Dish”

IMG_3021IMG_0500IMG_6856

Since we went on Thanksgiving everyone was at home with family, so we were able to enjoy things without the crowds of people. We did as much as possible Thanksgiving day because we knew the next day it’d be packed! The only issue was finding somewhere to eat breakfast. We ended up eating at Starbucks, which was the only thing opened that day. We then took the Big Bus Tour that included a live English-speaking guide (FYI: commentary is pre-recorded in 8 different languages).

FullSizeRender 29

FullSizeRender 2
Washington Monument
FullSizeRender 3
The lockkeeper’s house, where he lived with his thirteen children from 1835 to 1855! His job was to collect tolls and operate the lock of the Washington City Canal.
FullSizeRender
The White House
IMG_4488
Lincoln Memorial
FullSizeRender 5
Engine 3 was built in 1916 and responds to over 5,000 fires & EMS runs annually.

The second day we had breakfast/brunch at Busboys and Poets. It had a really nice ambiance and when you walk in there’s a tiny cute bookstore where you can look around while you wait to be seated. The food was really good, so I would definitely come back.

Busboys and Poets

IMG_9919
Busboys and Poets French Toast
IMG_1395
Two Eggs Scrambled w/ Meat

After, we decided to use the subway since we noticed it’d be cheap. The only other subway I’ve been to in the states has been New York’s subway and between the two I’m not sure which one wins in stinkiness. We headed to the Library of Congress and Capitol Hill and walked around.

IMG_2087
Subway
FullSizeRender 7
The Library of Congress
FullSizeRender 6
United States Capitol Building
IMG_4865
Capitol Hill
FullSizeRender 9
Florida is well represented with a Statue of John Gorrie at the National Statuary Hall Collection.
FullSizeRender 8
Inside the ceilings are beautiful. I liked this one in particular because of the pink lol.
FullSizeRender 4
The Archives Building

At night we went to a restaurant called Pearl Dive Oyster Palace. It was really nice inside and really packed as well. I’m not into oysters, but my husband loves them. I thought I wouldn’t like it so much but what I ordered was actually really good. I would definitely recommend this place especially if you’re into eating oysters! My husband definitely approves!

Pearl Dive Oyster Palace

IMG_0607
Oysters
IMG_2671
Barbecued Shrimp
IMG_3136
Wood Grilled Gulf Redfish
IMG_2334
Blackened Gulf Swordfish
IMG_6932
Dessert of the Day

On our last day, we went to have breakfast at Ted’s Bulletin with the best, and I’m not kidding when I say this, milkshakes I’ve EVER had. I lovee coconut anything, so I knew I had to try the “Toasted Coconut Milkshake” on their menu and they definitely did not disappoint. Forget any other milkshake you’ve ever had and stop by this place if you’re in the area to try their milkshakes! After, we decided to visit a few museums and just relax and walk around.

Ted’s Bulletin

FullSizeRender 13
Toasted Coconut Milkshake
FullSizeRender 16
The Big Mark Breakfast
FullSizeRender 15
Pancake Stack or Thick-Cut French Toast

International Spy Museum

IMG_8256IMG_7708 2

Petersen House Museum

IMG_0279IMG_4479

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

 

National Museum of Natural History

FullSizeRender 19FullSizeRender 21FullSizeRender 22FullSizeRender 17

IMG_4810
In front of the National Museum of Natural History

On our last night, we went to Barcelona Wine Bar. A great tapas restaurant my mom found with really nice outdoor seating. We absolutely loved it!

Barcelona Wine Bar

FullSizeRender 24
Albondigas

 

FullSizeRender 25
Jamon y Manchego Croquetas & Hanger Steak
FullSizeRender 26
Marinated Olives

 

FullSizeRender 27
Patatas Bravas
FullSizeRender 28
Jamon Serrano

All in all, it was an incredible trip!

-Daylin

Leave a Reply

